2012 National Blue Ribbon School


Lane Technical High School

U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan designated Lane Technical High School as a National Blue Ribbon School in 2012. The award acknowledged Lane Tech's effort to ensure that every child achieves at high academic levels and makes significant improvements in achievement in accordance with the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program criteria. Lane Tech was one of two high schools in Illinois receiving this prestigious honor and serves as a model of excellence to inspire other schools.

On November 12-13, Dr. Christopher Dignam and Mr. Seth Johnson represented Lane Tech at the National Blue Ribbon School award ceremony in Washington, DC. This event also marked the 30th anniversary of the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program. The program recognizes the nation's most successful schools and affirms Lane's ongoing commitment to expanding the opportunities available to students and equipping them with the skills, knowledge, and determination necessary to explore those opportunities.

For additional information about the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program, visit http://www2.ed.gov/programs/nclbbrs/index.html.

Blue Ribbon Ceremony

Our Blue Ribbon Program took place on Friday, November 30 during second period. We will be showcasing student talent, including performances by Drama II and III, the Lane poetry Slam Team, mixed chorus, marching band, ethnic clubs, and cheer/dance team. In addition, we will have guest speakers including Illinois Senate President John Cullerton, 11th district Representative Ann Williams, 47th Ward Alderman Ameya Pawar, and CPS CEO Dr. Barbara Byrd-Bennett. A small reception for invited guests will be held after the program.

Visit our Twitter or Facebook pages for live updates and photos from the event! You can also view an album of all the photos here.