Local School Council (LSC)

The Local School Councils serve as the policy-making body of the school. LSCs have remained an important vehicle for participatory democracy, allowing not only educators but parents the opportunity to make important decisions about how their children will be educated. It’s through these decisions that parents are connected with; educators to better align family and community engagement goals to student achievement; community members to help leverage community resources for the school; and other parents to share best practices and success stories.
LSC membership is a reflection of engaged and empowered parent, community, student, and educational leaders. It is through LSCs that parents are given a unique opportunity to have a voice in the decision-making table and engage in student-driven dialogue with community members, educators, students, and other parents.
Chicago Public Schools have Local School Councils (LSC) which are responsible for three main duties:

  1. Approving how school funds and resources are allocated
  2. Developing and monitoring the annual School Improvement Plan
  3. Evaluating and selecting the school’s principal

Traditional Local School Councils consist of the following members:

  • 6 parents
  • 2 community members
  • 2 teachers
  • 1 non-teacher staff
  • school’s principal
  • student representative (high school LSCs only)

Meeting Dates

LSC meetings at 6:00 PM in Room 113 and may also be viewed via Google Meet: meet.google.com/tfr-jjva-dhc

  • September 15, 2022
  • October 13, 2022
  • November 10, 2022
  • December 08, 2022
  • January 12, 2023
  • February 09, 2023
  • March 09, 2023
  • April 13 2023
  • May 11, 2023
  • June 01, 2023



Meeting Minutes

Archived Minutes available upon request. Please contact LanetechLSC@gmail.com

Current LSC Representatives

Parent Representatives

  • Laura J Symons – Chair
  • Benjamin Wong – Co-Chair
  • Catherine Ashlaw Doherty – Sergeant of Arms
  • Anne W Lokken – FOIA/OMA
  • Tikisha Buford
  • Jamie Fleischmann

Community Representatives

  • Maureen George
  • Ana Borja-Scales – Secretary

Teacher Representatives

  • Rebecca Daly
  • Mario Nunez

Staff Representative

  • ​​Dannixa Velez

Student Representative

  • Sean, Groh
  • Dalya Lessem Elnecave
  • Yumou Lu

Contact Us

Please feel free to contact us at lanetechlsc@gmail.com​