Drama – Celebrations

Young Playwright’s Festival 2020 Winners!

Congratulations to the following Lane student playwrights who were recognized by the Young Playwright’s Festival in August. Winner, Henry Williams will have his play professionally produced in January, 2020 with Pegasus Theatre.


  • Henry Williams, Clause 42, Teacher Molly Meacham


  • Louisa Lagco, Just Off Pulaski,Teacher Kirsten Hanson

Honorable Mentions

  • Molly Donohoe, Taco Night, Teacher Kirsten Hanson
  • John Arthur Sayson, Another You, Teacher Julie Allen
  • Mikayla Titus, Trigger Warning, Teacher Molly Meachamn


Lane Drama II/III students perform their original play at Steppenwolf Theatre!

Dates: Tuesday, May 21 and Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Time: 6:00 pm
Location: Steppenwolf Theatre
Cost: Free

IF I COULD TELL YOU explores the questions posed by the directing team of the Steppenwolf for Young Adults’ “We Are Proud To Present a Presentation….”: What if things were different? What if things were better? Through a series of scenes and monologues, the Lane Tech Ensemble’s original play connects the themes of the Steppenwolf production around cultural erasure, appropriation, and colonization to the pressing topics of racism, stereotypes and body image as relevant to the students’ day-to-day. This talented group of teen actors takes the audience through a journey asking, “What if we could know who people truly were?

Chicago Youth Theatre Festival

Congratulations to the following Lane Tech Drama 2&3 students who received awards for their performances at the Chicago Youth Theatre Festival on Saturday, January 16th at Northeatern University. Lane Tech was the only school to have students move to the finals round in all three performance categories.

Best Overall Performance:

  • Avery Moss
  • Alexis Parsio

2 Person Scenes:

  • First Place:
    • Avery Moss and Alexis Parsio
  • Second Place:
    • Olivia Fergus Brummer and Lauren Marut

Ensemble Scenes:

  • First Place:
    • Olivia Fergus Brummer
    • Lauren Marut
    • Avery Moss
  • Third Place:
    • Kendall Anderson
    • Paddy Berger
    • Christina Carlson
    • Anayia Teamer


  • Second Place:
    • Catie Mitchell